Translate

Friday, September 19, 2014

The Knife's Edge by Matthew Wolf

Ronin Saga #1
"When legends come to life the world trembles from a single name. Ronin. Once-heroes from a different age, they wield elemental powers… wind, water, fire, stone, forest, sun, moon, flesh, and metal.


At the same time, a young man discovers his best friend with a sword in her stomach, and dark wings sprouting from her back. Guards rush onto the scene, accuse him of the act, and he is forced to flee.



In a new world without his memories, Gray must find his way amid legends and darkness, as he wrestles with an elemental power inside himself. 

     A power all too similar to the infamous Ronin…"

I received this book from Patchwork Press via NetGalley for review.



I'm going to start out by saying that I normally don't read High Fantasy, books, or books that only have fantasy aspects. That being said this book took me a long time to get into, and when I did was a little confused at times. There were lots of phrases used that weren't explained in a way that, me as a reader, could understand with clarity. Maybe it's just me not being used to this kind of story, I don't really know. There was a glossary provided in the back of the book explaining what some of the phrases and such are, I kind of would have liked that to be at the start of the book instead.


What first drew me to this book, was actually the summary to the sequel, and since I imagine this is one of those books you can't read out of sequence, like most series, I had to grab this one first. The cover is also rather intriguing, and most of the characters were pretty well developed. Though their appearance and ages were never very clear to me, they all did have a pretty distinct voices, even though there are too many characters whose name starts with the letter 'K'.

The plot it self was really interesting, and fast paced once things got going. Even though I was a little confused with much that happened in this book, and there were parts that were slow for me, I am looking forward to reading the sequel.

Fans of Wheel of Time and Lord of the Rings will like this book.

~*~ Amazon ~*~ Goodreads ~*~

2 comments:

  1. Have you read The Wheel of Time. I love that series to death and I am still looking for my next epic high fantasy series to get lost in. Any idea how many books will be in the series?
    Also how would you rate things like word flow and grammar? Nothing ruins a book more then those things not working out in my opinion.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Currently there are two books but there might be more.

      I guess I'd rate it about a 6 or 7 on grammar. And I read about half of the first book of The Wheel of Time.

      Delete